Type Conversion String to Integer on Ionic 3

Hello, I am pretty new to ionic and I am working on a project that has a property with a string value within an ionic segment. This ion segment contains two ion-segment buttons, one button’s value is ‘1’ for Yes , and the other button’s value ‘2’ for No. When the user taps the yes button a comment section is enable, if the user taps the no button the comment section is disabled. This property value is binded to the property on a model page using using ngModel. This property value then needs to be converted to a number value when being submitted to a backend in a JSON payload upon submission of the payload. I find that if I just declare this property as a number, it breaks the comment enable/disable functionality and when the value is being submitted it still sends the property as a string value. I am looking for a way to convert the property value from string to number upon submission of the JSON payload.

This is what I currently have:

Property value , declared on model page named formPS4588
public safeWorkPracticesWereDemonstrated: any = ‘0’;

HTML file

Safe Work Practices`

S42 Safe work practices were demonstrated

<ion-segment [(ngModel)]=“form.safeWorkPracticesWereDemonstrated”>
Yes
<ion-segment-button value=“2” (ionSelect)=“tapSafeWorkPracticesNo()”>No

Safe Work Practice Recognition
<ion-textarea autoresize placeholder=“Safe Work Practice Recognition” [disabled]=“disableSafeWorkPractices()”
[(ngModel)]=“form.safeWorkPracticeRecognition”>

TS file
public disableSafeWorkPractices(): boolean {
return (this.form as FormPS4588).safeWorkPracticesWereDemonstrated !== ‘1’;
}

private submitForm(): void {
console.log(‘submitForm()’);
this.form.updateObservationTimeTo();

let safeWorkPracticesWereDemonstrated = this.formPS4588.safeWorkPracticesWereDemonstrated;

this.formPS4588.change(safeWorkPracticesWereDemonstrated);

this.observation.confirmSubmitted();