Trying to get non ionic native wrapped plugin to work

Okay, so I know that this is a much discussed subject (I’ve been googling it all day). Also, I admit I am quite new to ionic, at least trying this version. The thing is, I’ve noticed that while there is lots of advice for how to overcome this issue, there are two main problems with doing so. If there is any official up to date documentation on how to do it, I can’t find it. If there is, please refer me to it.
The second issue is that most everything I find online is for an older version of ionic and thus doesn’t work as the methods of doing things have changed since then. One person said to not bother looking at tutorials and other information and just stick to the official documentation. i would love to, but refer back to problem one.
Anyways, I am simply trying to get a basic plugin to just load into my app. I have tested to see if it is broken by setting up a plain vanilla Cordava application and the plugin loaded right from the start.

Okay, so here is the basics. I have just recently installed ionic’s CLI and built a basic sidebar app. This is just a test app to learn how to do things, one of the first of which is to learn how to install a plugin.

Here is my ionic info output:

cli packages: (C:\Users\SURFACE\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules)

@ionic/cli-utils  : 1.19.1
ionic (Ionic CLI) : 3.19.1

global packages:

cordova (Cordova CLI) : 8.0.0

local packages:

@ionic/app-scripts : 3.1.8
Cordova Platforms  : android 7.0.0
Ionic Framework    : ionic-angular 3.9.2

System:

Node : v9.3.0
npm  : 5.6.0
OS   : Windows 10

Environment Variables:

ANDROID_HOME : not set

Misc:

backend : pro

I created the app using the ionic CLI and then added the plugin using the CLI too. It updated the config.xml and the package,json files.

config.xml:

<plugin name="cordova-plugin-chrome-apps-sockets-udp" spec="^1.3.0" />

package.json:

"cordova": {
    "plugins": {
      "cordova-plugin-whitelist": {},