Skipping views when going back or preventing going back

I have this problem in my app that I can sort of solve on my own, I just don’t know if I’m not doing something really stupid since I’m still pretty new to Ionic / Angular / UI-router.

It’s slightly more complicated but, to simplify, lets say my app is a generic fitness app.

You have predefined set of workouts (list 1) and another set of different workouts (list 2). From each list you can click and view detail of that workout (detail 1 or detail 2). From workout detail view I can display list of exercises included in that workout (ie. “even more details” in a diagram below) - this is the same list for all different types of workouts so I’m using one common view.

This is the diagram that shows how user can move through my app:

Obviously I can go back from exercises back to workout details, from workout details back to list of workouts and from that back to home.

From Detail 1 or 2 screen I can start the workout which transitions me to “countdown” screen. There is a timer and beeping - do push-ups for 20 seconds, 3, 2, 1, beep, do crunches for 30 seconds, 3, 2, 1, beep, etc…

Once timer is running, there is no back button, you can’t go back from Countdown to Detail. Either countdown eventually runs to zero or you press “End workout button” and app moves to the “Done” screen where you are praised for your hard work :slight_smile: Again, there is no going back from “Done” to “Countdown” - that route is closed. On “Done” screen I press the “OK” button and app moves back to the list I originally came from. On “List” screen there is a back button but it must not take me back to previous screen (ie. “Done”) but instead should take me back to Home (defacto parent view for List).