Sharing data using provider not working

I’m still fairly new to Ionic. I’m using a provider which is registered in the app.module as a provider for authentication as I’m going to need users id and type throughout the app. In the login page I can see the account.email etc, which are bound to the interface with [(ngModel)]. The provider is also injected in the constructor as a parameter. I.e. constructor(public accountSrv: AccountService) All good.
The provider has set and get methods as well as login & logout. But cannot access any of the data instantiated by the login page, so cannot do login. Console.log logs data as unidentified.
I’m using lazy loading of pages with a blank starter.

Login page is home.ts

import { Component } from '@angular/core';
import { IonicPage, NavController, ToastController } from 'ionic-angular';
import { Account } from './../../models/account.interface';
import { AccountService } from './../../providers/account.service';

@IonicPage()
@Component({
  selector: 'page-home',
  templateUrl: 'home.html'
})
export class HomePage {

account = {} as Account;

constructor(private toastCtrl: ToastController,
              private navCtrl: NavController,
              public accSrv: AccountService
            ) {
    this.accSrv.setEmail(this.account.email);
    this.accSrv.setPassword(this.account.password);
  }

doLogin() {
    // For some reason accSrv is not seeing the account info
    let result = this.accSrv.login(); // *** result is also unidentified
  }
}

account.service.ts

import { Account } from './../models/account.interface';
import { Injectable } from '@angular/core';
import { AngularFireAuth } from 'angularfire2/auth';

@Injectable()
export class AccountService {

account = {} as Account;

constructor(private afAuth: AngularFireAuth) {
  }

login() {
    console.log(this.account.email); // *** returns unidentified
    return this.account.email;
    // do login here with email and password
  }

setID(val) {