Problems async method

Hey all!

I hope you can help me, because I have some problems with the sequence of my functions (Firebase)
Note that I am a newbie (started development 3 weeks ago) and sorry for my bad english … :wink:

As you can see on the code below, I try to use async function with .then method. My function calls DB on Firebase, so some functions take longer to complete tasks.
I don’t understand why my function: SearchOrg() is finished after my function : Invitation() … while I specify to continue the code in .then …
I passed long time to try other methods as : await or Promise with function(resolve, reject) … but nothing succeeded.

async SearchOrg () {
        this.afDB.list('Attente/' + this.userID + '/Amis').snapshotChanges(['child_added', 'child_removed']).subscribe(actions => {
                   this.testUser = [];
                   console.log(this.userID);
                   actions.forEach(action => {
                   this.testUser.push(action.key); // payload.exportVal().Organisateur);
               });
               console.log(this.testUser);    // Displayed Last
            });
            return this.testUser;
 }

async Invitation() {

const test = await this.SearchOrg().then(() => {
      console.log(test);                                   // Displayed First
        if (test !== ' ') {
           this.MasterFlag = true;
           this.presentLoadingWithOptions();
        } else {
            this.Inviter = [];
            this.MasterFlag = false;
            this.afDB.list('Attente/' + this.userID + '/Organisateur').snapshotChanges(['child_added', 'child_removed'])
            .subscribe(actions => {
               this.Inviter.push(action.payload.exportVal().Organisateur);
              });
          });
      console.log(this.Inviter);                                // Displayed second
   }
  });
}

Many thanks for helps
BR
Yoann

Here’s what I would recommend:

• forget that async and await exist for now;