Load JS files before anything else (jQuery and other JS libraries)

Hello everyone,

After struggling to make the QR Scan native plugin work on a pure browser (not Android or iOS app), apparently even if the the plarform “browser” is mentionned as compatible, it doesn’t mean it will work (see thread here ). I am a rookie, but I see a lot of people struggling with this topic…

So I turned to a pure HTML QR code scanner, and I managed to make it work as standalone on my laptop’s browser (not on mobile, but I assume it’s because I have to set the server with https to allow webRTC). Here is the HTML5 plugin. There is a simple test html page here.

The downsides of using this are: it requires jQuery (and I know most people advice against mixing jQuery and Angular2) and it extends jQuery with other functions (.html5-qrcode() among others).
Basically, in a normal webpage I would just load jQuery, then the 2 other JS scripts, like they do in the example, and it just works.

But how do I do this in my Ionic3 app? If I include the JS files in index.html, they are not always loaded before transpiling, and therefore $ is not recognized and the function .html5-qrcode not found.
If I use the import * as $ from 'jquery' on my page .ts file, it solves the $ issue but not the function not found…

Is there a way to tell ionic to load these external JS functions before trying everything else?

Thank you very much for your help!

I will reply to myself :smiley: because I figured out a solution.

The transpile process was giving errors because the $ and the functions html5_qrcode and html5_qecode_stop were not being read from the JS files that I included in index.html in time. They were eventually, but not a the time the page .ts was being processed.

I bypassed the transpiler error by declaring both in the page .ts file (like you would with prototypes):

declare var $: any;
declare function html5_qrcode(any);
declare function html5_qrcode_stop(any);