Ionic Vue popoverController not importing component

Hi All,
I am a self taught beginner that has managed to write several apps thanks to this and other generous communities.

I have been trying for days to create a popover using popoverController and importing a component for the content. I have no issues with inline popovers but when using the popoverController I am only seeing the backdrop and not the component content. I have placed a console log in the component script to see if it is being used but nothing gets written to the console. It’s as though the component is not being imported but I am getting no path or other errors and other components are being imported into the template using the same path alias. I am almost certain it isn’t a css issue or a path issue but beyond that I am out of my depth. Below is the simplified excerpts of my app. Thanks in advance for any insights.

Ionic V6 Vue3

MyPopover.vue

<ion-content>Hello World!</ion-content>
</template>

<script lang="ts">
import { IonContent } from '@ionic/vue';
import { defineComponent } from 'vue';

export default defineComponent({
    name: 'testPopover',
    components: { IonContent },
});
</script>

settings.vue

<ion-page>
        <ion-content>
            <ion-button @click="openPopover($event)">Click Me</ion-button>
        </ion-content>
    </ion-page>
</template>
<script lang="ts">
import { defineComponent, ref } from 'vue';
import { IonPage, IonButton, IonContent, popoverController } from '@ionic/vue';
import MyPopover from '@/components/popovers/testPopover.vue'

export default defineComponent({
    name: 'test-popover',
    components: {
        IonPage,
        IonContent,
        IonButton
    },
    setup() {
        const openPopover = async (event: Event) => {
            const Popover = await popoverController.create({
                component: MyPopover,
                event: event,
            });
            await Popover.present();
            console.log(Popover)
        }