Ionic v5 React TSX File Transfer Plugin - Can't Understand Example

I’m new to React and TS so maybe I’m just an idiot but so far I’ve been doing fine building out my app but I need to use the file-transfer plugin and this is where everything breaks down.

constructor(private transfer: FileTransfer, private file: File) { } doesn’t work under the imports and only works if I put it in a class, however then “FileTransfer” is viewed as a value and not a type. However if it’s outside of the class then it gets the error cannot find name constructor.

Then fileTransfer.download() gets me Duplicate identifier ‘fileTransfer’.ts(2300)

I could share with you the code that I have but honestly it’s just a patch-work piece of garbage that has nothing working so instead I’ll show you what I wanted to work

constructor(private transfer: Transfer, private file: File) { }

const fileTransfer: TransferObject = this.transfer.create();

function getLatestTealist() {

const url = 'http://dandtea.com/tealist.json';

fileTransfer.download(url, this.file.dataDirectory + 'current_compressed.json').then((entry) => {

console.log('download complete: ' + entry.toURL());

// MAKE TOAST SAYING "LATEST VERSION GRABBED"

}, (error) => {

// handle error

alert(error);

});

And maybe someone can help me understand how to make that work. I really appreciate it.

did you see this?

import { FileTransfer, FileUploadOptions, FileTransferObject } from '@ionic-native/file-transfer';

let fileTransfer = FileTransfer.create();
    fileTransfer.download(url, this.file.dataDirectory + 'current_compressed.json').then((entry) => {
        console.log('download complete: ' + entry.toURL());
        // MAKE TOAST SAYING "LATEST VERSION GRABBED"
    }, (error) => {
        // handle error
        alert(error);
    });
1 Like

I see! I didn’t see that, I saw that Using React? but then saw the next that also said “Using React?” with code under it so I followed that guide.