Ionic Input shows [object Object] as placeholder

Hello Ionic community,

I am very new to the Ionic Framework, Angular JS and TypeScript but trying to improve as fast as possible.
But now I encountered a problem I can’t seem to solve, not even using Google :smile:

So I was just trying a simple Input function.
This is the relevant part of my .html file:

<ion-content padding>
    <ion-item>
        <ion-input type="text" placeholder="Enter token" [(ngModel)]="var1"></ion-input>
     </ion-item>
     <button ion-button block (click)="login()">Login</button>
</ion-content>

And this is the relevant part of my .ts file:

export class StartPage {

constructor(public navCtrl: NavController, public navParams: NavParams) {
  }

var1 ={}
  login() {
    console.log(this.var1);
    if(this.var1=="Hallo"){
     doSomething();
    }
  }
  ionViewDidLoad() {
    console.log('ionViewDidLoad LoginPage');
  }
}

So the Input field should show “Enter token” as a placeholder, right?
But when I run ionic lab it just shows “[object Object]”. So why is that?

By the way I regarded the page https://ionicframework.com/docs/developer-resources/forms/ for this, but just wanted to make this feature as simple as possible.

I am grateful for any hints.

Because of the bolded part in the ion-input documentation for placeholder:

Instructional text that shows before the input has a value.

So once the input has a value (which it does when you bind [ngModel]), the placeholder attribute is ignored. <ion-input> is expecting its ngModel to be a string, and if it isn’t, it tries to coerce it into one, and Object-to-string coercion on your var1 of {} which is an Object results in “[object Object]”.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick answer, I see the problem.
So do you know of an easy way to only bind [(ngModel)] once you click the Login Button, while still being able to get the input? I was trying out a few things but couldn’t find an easy workaround.