Ionic 5 Keyboard Web Browser IOS Safari

Hello everyone,

Massive fan of Ionic, and this is my first time using it was a web based app as opposed to a hybrid / native build.

I’m super sorry if this has already been covered, I’ve had a scan of the forums and carried out search but can’t see anything about this. There is a reference to listening for keyboard events in the docs but not sure if thats needed here.

The main question I have from this post is:

Does the keyboard automatically push the ion-tabbar and bottom fixed elements up or should I be doing something to make this happen?

Below i’ve outlined the current ui probem.

I have a basic chat window which has the following code:

<ion-header>
  <ion-toolbar>
    <ion-back-button slot="start"></ion-back-button>
    <ion-title *ngIf="conversation">
      <span class="name" *ngIf="conversation.my_role === 'Renter'"><strong>{{conversation.owner_name}}</strong></span>
      <span class="name" *ngIf="conversation.my_role !== 'Renter'"><strong>{{conversation.renter_name}}</strong></span>
    </ion-title>
  </ion-toolbar>
</ion-header>

<ion-content>

<div class="conversation-container" *ngIf="conversation">
    <div class="chat" #chatContainer>
      <div class="message" [class.my-message]="message.sender_id === myID" [class.not-my-message]="message.sender_id !== myID" *ngFor="let message of conversation.messages">
        <div class="timestamp">{{message.created_at | dateTimeFormatFilter: 'short'}}</div>
        <div class="bubble-container">
        <span class="bubble">
        {{message.content}}
        </span>
        </div>
      </div>
    </div>
  </div>

</ion-content>

<ion-footer>

<div class="write">
    <ion-textarea [autoGrow]="true" placeholder="Enter Messsage..." [(ngModel)]="messageToSend" (keyup.enter)="sendMessage()"></ion-textarea>
    <ion-icon name="send-outline" [size]="'large'" (click)="sendMessage()"></ion-icon>
  </div>

</ion-footer>