Ionic 4 - New Starter Help

Hi everyone, I’m new to Ionic and Angular so please forgive any stupid questions.

I am attempting to learn this framework and I’m building a random app purely to see how I’m doing it in. I seem to be struggling with the most basic stuff though, watching youtube tutorials on Ionic 4 and Angular JS, everything seems right or at least the same as what the people in the tutorials have yet mine has elements that don’t work.

For example I cannot get a menu to work, I can get a split plane and display a menu on the first page but something like toggling a menu on any other page or even displaying the menu on another page doesn’t work.

I’m not sure if perhaps my layout of the html pages are incorrect, I’m at looking at this similar to a normal HTML project which could be wrong but I didn’t find anything on actually structuring the front end page. I’ve included my menu page below which ideally I’m hoping to have some tabs that link to pages, there would only be a few but even then I’m open to suggestions.

The issue with just this part for example is the title, I would expect this to resize between a desktop and a mobile device (I’m running in a browser and ionic lab to simulate ios and android) but it seems to have no form of mobile responsiveness at all?

AGain I could totally be wrong and end up doing something completely wrong and I’m hoping somebody could point me in the right direction because so far the tutorials haven’t been much help and the documentation doesn’t seem to answer my questions, or simply I just don’t get it…

<ion-buttons slot="start">

<ion-menu-button></ion-menu-button>

</ion-buttons>

<ion-title>

<h1 class="title">

Mr B's Droid Checklist

</h1>

</ion-title>
<ion-tab-bar slot="top" has-header="true">

<ion-tab-button tab="astromechs">

<ion-icon name="person"></ion-icon>

</ion-tab-button>

<ion-tab-button tab="d0">

<ion-icon name="call"></ion-icon>

</ion-tab-button>

<ion-tab-button tab="bd1">