How to read the length of a Firebase database

Hi all, I’m pretty new to Ionic and I’m trying to create a to do list app with a Firebase database. I want the app to display the following when a list is empty:

<ion-item *ngIf="myItemList$.length==0">
      There are no items!
      <p>Click <ion-icon name="add-circle"></ion-icon> to add an item.</p>
    </ion-item>

but nothing is displayed.
This is my typescript for the list:

myItemList$: Observable<Item[]>;
  constructor(public navCtrl: NavController, public navParams: NavParams, private modalCtrl: ModalController, public db: AngularFireDatabase,
     private itemListService: ItemListService, private toast: ToastController, private actionSheetCtrl: ActionSheetController) {

this.myItemList$ = this.itemListService.getItemList().snapshotChanges().pipe(
      map(changes => 
        changes.map(c => ({
          key: c.payload.key, ...c.payload.val()
        }))
      ));

And this is my list provider:

private itemListRef = this.db.list<Item>
	 ('todoAppdb',ref=>ref.orderByChild("listid").equalTo(2));
	 constructor(private db: AngularFireDatabase){
	 }
	 getItemList() {
	 	return this.itemListRef;
	 }

I’m able to add and retrieve the items from firebase but when the list is empty the text is not displayed so I’m guessing I’m incorrectly reading the length of the database?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Hi @MarioRud :wave:

Your myItemList$ property is an Observable, so you need to use the async pipe to tell Angular to wait until its value is available:

<ion-item *ngIf="!(myItemList$ | async).length">

Best,
Rodrigo

Hi Rodrigo, thank you for your reply!

I’ve tried using your suggestion but I get the error:

Uncaught (in promise): TypeError: Cannot read property ‘length’ of null
TypeError: Cannot read property ‘length’ of null
at Object.eval [as updateDirectives] (VM294 List1Page.ngfactory.js:225)

Any ideas on what could be causing this?

Thanks