How to fix 'Android Gradle plugin 4.0.1 must not be applied to project since version 4.0.1 was already applied to this project'?

I am a beginner in Ionic+Angular. I am having an issue with Gradle Sync. Android Studio says ‘Android Gradle plugin 4.0.1 must not be applied to project ‘/Users/zerobstacle/Desktop/capacitor-test/water-meter-reading/android/capacitor-cordova-android-plugins’ since version 4.0.1 was already applied to this project’. I think this problem started when I tried using the Firebase Vision plugin from Cordova.

Here is my build.gradle:

ext {
    cordovaAndroidVersion =  project.hasProperty('cordovaAndroidVersion') ? rootProject.ext.cordovaAndroidVersion : '7.0.0'
}

buildscript {
    repositories {
        google()
        jcenter()
    }
    dependencies {
        classpath 'com.android.tools.build:gradle:3.6.1'
    }
}

apply plugin: 'com.android.library'

android {
    compileSdkVersion project.hasProperty('compileSdkVersion') ? rootProject.ext.compileSdkVersion : 29
    defaultConfig {
        minSdkVersion project.hasProperty('minSdkVersion') ? rootProject.ext.minSdkVersion : 21
        targetSdkVersion targetSdkVersion = project.hasProperty('targetSdkVersion') ? rootProject.ext.targetSdkVersion : 29
        versionCode 1
        versionName "1.0"
    }
    lintOptions {
        abortOnError false
    }
    compileOptions {
        sourceCompatibility JavaVersion.VERSION_1_8
        targetCompatibility JavaVersion.VERSION_1_8
    }
}

repositories {
    google()
    jcenter()
    mavenCentral()
    flatDir{
        dirs 'src/main/libs', 'libs'
    }
}

dependencies {
    implementation fileTree(dir: 'src/main/libs', include: ['*.jar'])
    implementation "org.apache.cordova:framework:$cordovaAndroidVersion"
    // SUB-PROJECT DEPENDENCIES START
    implementation "com.google.firebase:firebase-ml-vision:24.+"
    implementation "com.google.firebase:firebase-ml-vision-barcode-model:16.+"
    // SUB-PROJECT DEPENDENCIES END
}