How To Call Methods

Hello,

I’m pretty new to React and only just starting out. I’ve tried to find the answer but not sure if I’m searching for the wrong phrase or keyword(s).

Using https://ionicframework.com/docs/api/slides as an example. I want to apply the lockSwipes method and only allow the user to continue by pressing on a button with an onClick.

However, I just cannot figure out how to call them.

I’m not expecting code to be written for me. Happy for you to point me in the right direction and ill go readup but spent the past two evenings attempting and so far failing and loosing hope.

Regards
Tom

You can use the useRef React hook to get a reference to the IonSlides component, and then invoke methods directly on the component.

Something like

const slidesRef = useRef();
const handleNext = () => slidesRef.current?.slideNext();
return (
  <>
    <IonSlides ref={slidesRef}>{/*...*/}</IonSlides>
    <IonButton onClick={handleNext}>Next</IonButton>
  </>
);
2 Likes

Hi mirkonassato,

Thank you for getting back to me. However, it is throwing the following error

TS2322: Type 'MutableRefObject<HTMLIonSlideElement | undefined>' is not assignable to type '((instance: HTMLIonSlidesElement | null) => void) | RefObject<HTMLIonSlidesElement> | null | undefined'. Type 'MutableRefObject<HTMLIonSlideElement | undefined>' is not assignable to type 'RefObject<HTMLIonSlidesElement>'. Types of property 'current' are incompatible. Type 'HTMLIonSlideElement | undefined' is not assignable to type 'HTMLIonSlidesElement | null'. Type 'undefined' is not assignable to type 'HTMLIonSlidesElement | null'.

Yeah with TypeScript you’ll have to add the right type argument. Try

const slidesRef = useRef<HTMLIonSlidesElement>(null);
2 Likes

Sorry for the late reply.
However, after a bit of trial and error following the information youve provided I’ve successfully achieved what I was looking to do.

Thank you very much.

Hi @DevRenshaw