Help on navigation workflow

Hello ionic fans,
I am brand new to this whole html/javascript world (I am a pure java developer) but I am intending to create a android app using cordova/angularjs/ionic.
I have a simple design that I do not manage to make work.
I would be very happy if someone could help me.

What I try to acheive
The home page should have 2 buttons at the bottom (no home button). The “settings” (gear) should slide to the right to the setting page, which have 2 new buttons at bottom “setup1” and “setup2”.
I have used a <ion-nav-bar/> directive to have a back arrow to the home screen when we are in the settings screens (but I am not sure that is a good choice).
I have created a codepen sample to show my first attempt here : http://codepen.io/sgandon/pen/iIAbo

Here are the problems I am getting :

1. the setting1 or setting2 pages do not get displayed, or if I manage to display them by using an additional <ion-nav-view></ion-nav-view> the back arrow on my navbar disappear ?
  2. On the home page no button should be selected but the “info” button is, it seems that selection is not related to the state of the ui-router?
  3. the home “info” button should slide to the left and the “right”, how to make this happen ?

Thanks to anyone that have red until here and that ma give me some hints.

Hi Sebastien,

• short answer :slight_smile: : http://codepen.io/elSolo/pen/DyJtl

• detailed answer :

• If your Home view is not the same as your Info view, you should/must(?) put your Home view in a tab like I did. If you show a tabs bar at the bottom, one must be selected (by design).

• When you go to Setup View, a new “ion-tabs” view is loaded and it has his own history (by design), so no more “back” button like we have when navigating from one “normal” view to another “normal” view.

• BUT, you can implement your own “back” button like I did (see code).