Error: EACCES: permission denied, unlink - when run $ ionic start

Hi, I am just getting started with ionic, and I am now facing a blocker in a very early step to run ionic.

I am using OS: Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon 64 bit
Node version : v10.0.0 (installed from NVM without root access)
NPM version : 5.6.0 (installed from NVM without root access)

I am following this tutorial:
https://coursetro.com/posts/code/36/Installing-Ionic-2-&-Starting-a-Project

I install ionic by:

$ npm install -g ionic cordova

It returns this:

home/brian/.nvm/versions/node/v10.0.0/bin/cordova → /home/brian/.nvm/versions/node/v10.0.0/lib/node_modules/cordova/bin/cordova
/home/brian/.nvm/versions/node/v10.0.0/bin/ionic → /home/brian/.nvm/versions/node/v10.0.0/lib/node_modules/ionic/bin/ionic
npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: fsevents@1.2.3 (node_modules/ionic/node_modules/fsevents):
npm WARN notsup SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: Unsupported platform for fsevents@1.2.3: wanted {“os”:“darwin”,“arch”:“any”} (current: {“os”:“linux”,“arch”:“x64”})

• cordova@8.0.0
  • ionic@3.20.0
    added 677 packages in 16.679s

Then I checked if cordova and ionic is installed by $ ionic -v , and it returns

• ionic is installed despite of the WARN message.

I then try to run the next step of tutorial:

$ ionic start firstProject blank

Then this error show up:

? The directory firstProject contains file(s) that could conflict. Would you like to overwrite the directory with this new project? Yes
:heavy_multiplication_x: Creating directory ./firstProject - failed!
Error: EACCES: permission denied, unlink ‘/home/brian/firstProject/.editorconfig’

I have tried to give permission to that path by:

$ sudo chown -R brian /home/brian/firstProject/.editorconfig

But still, the same error persists when I run $ ionic start firstProject blank

I also have tried running the command using root $ sudo ionic start firstProject blank, but it returns

sudo: ionic: command not found.