Data storage offline

Hey folks,

Ok total newbie here, so bare with me. I have a few basic questions/queries about data storage.
so to keep it simple ill use an example app.

I downloaded a quiz app, and signed in, and then put my phone on airplane mode (to kill connection). I played 5 games, and the app had a page of total stats (IQ etc).

I then closed the app, and restarted my phone, and while still in airplane mode, I opened the quiz app…i did not need to login again, and it had kept my history of stats.

How has it done this?

I know localStorage wont work here, as it erased when closing. I want to make a similar app, as its my first attempt, and i want to store data in the same way. Ive been through many many articles/stack/forums, and i have seen things like CouchDB(with PouchDB), sqlLite, ionicStorage etc etc. So for the above example, can someone point me in the right direction of how this is done please? i am using firebase, which is fine for a connection, its just this offline storage i’m confused about.

also, after the 10th quiz, the app asked me to download the next section. how is this done, as in where is that content saved? in the app or my device?

thanks,
Joey

Why wouldn’t localStorage work?

Closing the app and and restarting the phone does not clear localStorage. You have to manually clear the data and cache (on Android at least) in Settings > Apps in order the delete an app’s localStorage (short of uninstalling the app, of course).

Also, Firebase has a local cache that allows it work also in offline mode, which is probably why the app remembered you were logged in even in airplane mode.

Oh I thought localStorage was gone on mobile, read that somewhere…
So I also read that ‘the device, can delete your localStorage if it needs to free space for main tasks (specifically android)’…would this be correct? (so there would be a chance it could be removed)

Ok cool, ill look into firebase, used that briefly before for web work, so be open to that.