Creating apk in ionic on mac

Hello

I’m new to ionic framework and have been trying to create my first hybrid application. By following some tutorials online, somehow, i managed to create my first application. Now, I’m trying to create apk for android devices but when i run ionic cordova run android --prod --release, it gives me error as requirements check failed for jdk 1.8 or greater. Please note that I’ve installed jdk 9.0 ( which is latest, i guess.).

Editor is vscode and machine is mac.

Looking forward to hearing some useful solutions.

Regards
Tanveer Alam

1 Like

Have you tried to install a lower jdk version?

What does ionic cordova requirements output? Is it happy?
What is your ionic info output?

@inesgomes What version do you suggest me to install ?

@Sujan12 , By running ionic cordova requirements command, I’m getting following results

Requirements check results for android:

Java JDK: installed
Android SDK: installed true
Android target: not installed
avdmanager: Command failed with exit code 1 Error output:
Exception in thread “main” java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javax/xml/bind/annotation/XmlSchema
at com.android.repository.api.SchemaModule$SchemaModuleVersion.(SchemaModule.java:156)
at com.android.repository.api.SchemaModule.(SchemaModule.java:75)
at com.android.sdklib.repository.AndroidSdkHandler.(AndroidSdkHandler.java:81)
at com.android.sdklib.tool.AvdManagerCli.run(AvdManagerCli.java:213)
at com.android.sdklib.tool.AvdManagerCli.main(AvdManagerCli.java:200)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: javax.xml.bind.annotation.XmlSchema
at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.BuiltinClassLoader.loadClass(BuiltinClassLoader.java:582)
at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.ClassLoaders$AppClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoaders.java:185)
at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:496)
… 5 more

Gradle: installed /Applications/Android Studio.app/Contents/gradle/gradle-4.1/bin/gradle

Error: Some of requirements check failed.