"componentWillLoad" will not always get triggered when page is loaded

Hello guys

First off, I wanted to let you know that I’ve been already trying to figure this out on my own for some time without any success, that’s why I finally decided to look for help here. It’s also important to clarify that I’m quite new to this, I started just this year with web development, so I’m still ignorant on many things and I’m really sorry I’m my terminology is a little off.

That said, I have the following problem: I need some code to be executed every time a page is loaded, and I thought “componentWillLoad” was the right choice for this. However, I can’t really comprehend its behavior. Why does it sometime get triggered and some times it doesnt?

Here’s a video showing what I mean:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=orc9eECz2ac

I have a console.log inside of a “componentWillLoad” function in every page, and the following happens:

• The first time I go into “/”, it gets triggered. No problem.
  • Then, when I go from “/” to “/dashboard” it gets triggered. No problem
  • Then, from “/dashboard” to “/project” it gets triggered. No problem.
  • Then, when I go back from “/project” to “/dashboard” it doesn’t get triggered. However, if I go again from “/dashboard” to “/project” it does get triggered every time. Why does this happen?

To switch between pages I use this in every case:

this.navCtrl.push("/url", "forward")

Please let me know if you need more information. In case you need to take a look at the code, it’s here (I’m pretty sure the code is a mess in terms of best practices, so sorry about that). The important parts are in the “component” foldes, specifically in the components “app-login”, “app-project” and “app-dashboard”.

Thanks in advance guys!

Sorry, I use Angular as a framework, so somebody else is going to have to handle the details here, but generally speaking,