Clear instructions for using plugins with TS

Are there any clear instructions for installing and using Plugins in a TypeScript app?

I only get errors like:
Cannot find name cordova or Property ‘plugins’ does not exist on type ‘window’

I’ll offer up what I know, though I’m by no means an expert :slight_smile:

first off, installing plugins is best done via the terminal. Most plugins for cordova or phonegap are useable, and will likely have an installation command along the lines of :

‘cordova plugin add cordova-plugin-camera’

you’ll just want to change the first ‘cordova’ (or ‘phonegap’ as the case may be) to ‘ionic’ EX:

‘ionic plugin add cordova-plugin-camera’

Once you have it installed, the most basic way to use the plugin is to place it in the HTML file EX:
(in home.html)
<button (click)="runCordova()">Camera!</button>
(in home.ts)
runCordova(){normal javascript code}

This is the easiest way I know of, with the downside that you will not be able to use external variables (like this.value)

If you need to use typescript or angular 2 abilities (which you likely will), you can check out Ionic Native http://ionicframework.com/docs/v2/native/ which is a bunch of commonly used plugins wrapped up in a way that makes them useable within the typescript.

hope something helps, and if not, that someone else who knows more than me posts :slight_smile:

Hi Jeff, unfortunately this is strictly about using plugins with TypeScript and not those found in Ionic Native.
Such as email composer.

I am a little closer however as I now no longer have the cannot find name cordova eror.
I ran npm install -g typings
and then
typings install cordova --save --ambient

Now I think I need to run something like:
typings install cordova/plugins/cordova-plugin-email-composer --save --ambient

This is where information I have found gets really fuzzy.

I am speculating here but…