While I haven’t tried it myself, there’s the migrate function. Usually, you would call migrate once upon app startup. Then going forward, use the Storage API as you currently are (since I believe the API didn’t change between v2 and v3).
You could leave that code in place forever, or remove it in a future app version once you’re comfortable enough that users have all been updated.