Can not use cordova plugins inside ionic project

I am new to Ionic and Cordova . I am trying to add a plugin

1.Created an ionic app using ionic start myproj

2.Added a cordova plugin using following command

cordova plugin add https://github.com/domaemon/org.apache.cordova.plugin.helloworld.git

3.Added navigator.helloworld.say();inside the ionic app.js as mentioned below

.run(function($ionicPlatform) {
  $ionicPlatform.ready(function() {
    // Hide the accessory bar by default (remove this to show the accessory bar above the keyboard
    // for form inputs)

if (window.cordova && window.cordova.plugins && window.cordova.plugins.Keyboard) {
      cordova.plugins.Keyboard.hideKeyboardAccessoryBar(true);
      cordova.plugins.Keyboard.disableScroll(true);

}
    if (window.StatusBar) {
      // org.apache.cordova.statusbar required
      StatusBar.styleLightContent();
    }

navigator.helloworld.say();
  });
})

when i am running the code through ionic serve…I am not getting the hello alert but i am getting the following error in the console as below

can not read property 'type' of undefined for the line navigator.helloworld.say();

Please let me know do i need to add any entries to any xml for mannual plugin addition or do i miss anything?

seems to be broken a looooong time ago

Cordova plugins do not work while developing in your browser, because each plugin accesses a specific API (such as camera, microphone, accelerometer) which is not available in your browser. Additionally, some plugins don’t work in the emulator, such as the Camera plugin, so development on your physical device is required.

While there are certain plugins that will work in the browser, and ways to get around the ones that don’t, by default this plugin will not work when testing from the browser. I tested this plugin in an android emulator and the alert worked. You can emulate it or run it directly on a device and see the alert.