[BUG] NavController.getActive() doesn't work as expected

I want to simply print the name of the current page whenever the current page changes. I could print out the name manually using ionViewDidEnter() on each page but it would be much better to simply hook onto an event that applies to all pages.

So, in the home page of my app, I have a subscription to the navCtrl.viewDidEnter event to print out navCtrl.getActive().name but the results are different to what ionViewDidEnter prints out (source code at the bottom).

Here is an example log that I get with comments on what I’m doing:

// app loaded defaulting to homepage
ionViewDidEnter HomePage
active nav: HomePage
//navCtrl.push('Page2Page')
ionViewDidEnter Page2Page
active nav: Page2Page
//up to now this is all expected behaviour
//navCtrl.pop()
ionViewDidEnter HomePage
active nav: Page2Page
//this should not be the case!
//why is the active nav Page2Page when the current page is HomePage???

Why does this happen? Have I misunderstood what navCtrl.getActive() actually does?

This is the gist of my code.

HomePage

export class HomePage {

constructor(public navCtrl: NavController) {
      this.navCtrl.viewDidEnter.subscribe(()=> {
          let n = this.navCtrl.getActive().name;
          console.log('active nav: ' + n);
      });
  }
  ionViewDidEnter() {
    console.log('ionViewDidEnter HomePage');
  }
}

Page2Page

export class Page2Page {

constructor(public navCtrl: NavController, public navParams: NavParams) {
  }

ionViewDidEnter() {
    console.log('ionViewDidEnter Page2Page');
  }
}

Ionic version: 3.12.0
Cordova version: 7.0.1

What is the use case here?

I ask because you’re proposing a couple rather unusual things, namely printing the name of the active page (normally indicative of code that is way too interested in what other code is doing) and having 100+ pages, which just seems a little unnecessary.

1 Like