Best way to transfer a picture it to a server

I am new to anything related to mobile app programming, Ionic (2), Angular (2), etc.
With my app I let the user take a picture, than categorize it and send it to a server.

I can already take a picture with the app. Now I want to transfer it with some information (a JSON-ified javascript object that contains information about creation date and time plus the category the user chose for that image). The server runs an apache webserver with php and perl.

Look into the cordova file transfer plugin. There is support for it in ionic-native.

1 Like

I have a working example of the cordova file transfer plugin here for some inspiration :slight_smile:

1 Like

I upload images to Amazon s3 using a presigned post request. This saves my server from having to do the work and protects my API key.

I don’t use the file transfer plugin because I prefer to scale the images first for the user. For my app, I don’t need a users 4 mb, 16 mp image. A 100kb version will do just fine. I shrink the image using multi-step canvas resizing and then convert the image to a blob for uploading.

hi @jack2,

Could you share to us, how to shrink the image and upload the image ??
Thanks in advance.

I tried to build it for android (and it in fact builds it) but I get errors:

TypeScript error: C:/Users/schmid/ionic2/filetransferexpample/FileTransferExample/source/app/services/plugins.service.ts(54,26): Error TS2304: Cannot find name 'FileTransfer'.
TypeScript error: C:/Users/schmid/ionic2/filetransferexpample/FileTransferExample/source/app/services/plugins.service.ts(55,31): Error TS2304: Cannot find name 'FileUploadOptions'.
TypeScript error: typings/main.d.ts(2,1): Error TS6053: File 'typings/main/ambient/cordova/plugins/filesystem/index.d.ts' not found.
TypeScript error: typings/main.d.ts(3,1): Error TS6053: File 'typings/main/ambient/cordova/plugins/filetransfer/index.d.ts' not found.