AoT compiles even when templates are accessing private properties

Hello,

First of all I would like to say that I am completely new to Ionic and also to Angular. Forgive me for any stupid question or comment.

Well, I’m doing some testing to better understand how the AOT compiler works.

I came across this situation where I have a component with private fields, which are accessed in my template, but still the build seems to work perfectly. From what I had understood, this should generate an error.

@IonicPage()
@Component({
  selector: 'page-login',
  templateUrl: 'login.html',
})
export class LoginPage {

private username : string;

private password : string;  

//etc etc
}

My template references the fields as follows:

<ion-input [(ngModel)]="username" name="username" type="text" required>

<ion-input [(ngModel)]="password" name="password" type="password" required>

Then, I running the command below and no error was presented:

ionic build --prod

Running app-scripts build: --prod
[22:13:51]  build prod started ... 
[22:13:51]  clean started ... 
[22:13:51]  clean finished in 1 ms 
[22:13:51]  copy started ... 
[22:13:51]  deeplinks started ... 
[22:13:51]  deeplinks finished in 44 ms 
[22:13:51]  ngc started ... 
[22:13:57]  ngc finished in 5.39 s 
[22:13:57]  preprocess started ... 
[22:13:57]  preprocess finished in less than 1 ms 
[22:13:57]  webpack started ... 
[22:13:57]  copy finished in 5.66 s 
[22:14:23]  webpack finished in 25.97 s 
[22:14:23]  uglify started ... 
[22:14:23]  sass started ... 
[22:14:24]  sass finished in 1.35 s 
[22:14:24]  cleancss started ... 
[22:14:25]  cleancss finished in 1.22 s 
[22:14:37]  uglify finished in 14.13 s 
[22:14:37]  postprocess started ... 
[22:14:37]  postprocess finished in 13 ms 
[22:14:37]  lint started ... 
[22:14:37]  build prod finished in 45.69 s 

I found an issue open in Angular github with this same situation: https://github.com/angular/angular/issues/14739.