Angular 4 displays multiple results after a function is performed

I’m a noob and I’m stuck in a problem, I’ve searched everywhere but I couldn’t exactly find a proper solution for it. Have a look at my code

getmyfriends() {
let allfriends;
var friendsuid = [];
this.firefriends.child(firebase.auth().currentUser.uid).on('value', (snapshot) => {
  allfriends = snapshot.val();
  this.myfriends = [];
  for (var i in allfriends){
    friendsuid.push(allfriends[i].uid);
}
  this.userservice.getallusers().then((users) => {
    this.myfriends = [];
    for (var j in friendsuid)
      for (var key in users) {
        if (friendsuid[j] === users[key].uid) {
          this.myfriends.push(users[key]);
        }
      }
    this.events.publish('friends');
  }).catch((err) => {
    alert(err);
  })

})
}

^this is the code from my provider file.

ionViewWillEnter(){
this.requestservice.getmyrequests();
this.requestservice.getmyfriends();
this.myfriends = [];
this.events.subscribe(‘gotrequests’, () => {
this.myrequests = [];
this.myrequests = this.requestservice.userdetails;
})
this.events.subscribe(‘friends’, () => {
this.myfriends = [];
this.myfriends = this.requestservice.myfriends;
})
}

^This code is from my component

When I use ngFor in my html, it works fine the first time. But when I delete a user or add another user, my result gets duplicated and when I refresh the page, the extra duplicate results disappear… How can I fix it? I don’t want to display duplicates. I’m using realtime firebase.
Do I need to unsubscribe ? If yes, then how should I do that. Please explain in detail. Thank you!

I think if you rethink the design, the issue you are encountering should magically disappear.

Your component is sad. It doesn’t care about events. It doesn’t want to decouple asking for requests and friends from receiving requests and friends. What it wants to do is this:

ionViewWillEnter(): void {
  this.requests.getMyRequests().subscribe(reqs => this.requests = reqs);