A question on app structure

Firstly, I’m new to Ionic and AngularJS so bear that in mind as you tear my ugly code apart :wink:

Now, a few code snippets of what I currently have before I get into the questions:

A little state snippet:

.state('app.beacons', {
    url: '/beacons',
    views: {
      'menu-view': {
        templateUrl: 'templates/beacon-list.html',
        controller: 'BeaconsCtrl',
        resolve: {
          beacons: function(BeaconService) {
            return BeaconService.list();
          }
        }
      }
    }
  })

A little controller snippet:

.controller('BeaconsCtrl', ['$scope', 'beacons', 'BeaconService', function($scope, beacons, BeaconService) {

$scope.beacons = beacons.results;

$scope.refreshBeaconList = function() {
        BeaconService.list().then(function( response ) {
          $scope.beacons = response.results
          $scope.$broadcast('scroll.refreshComplete');
        });
      }

$scope.joinBeacon = function( beaconId ) {
    BeaconService.updateFireteam( beaconId, 'join' ).then(function() {
      $scope.refreshBeaconList();
    });
  }

$scope.leaveBeacon = function( beaconId ) {
    BeaconService.updateFireteam( beaconId, 'leave' ).then(function(){
      $scope.refreshBeaconList();
    });
  }

}])

And finally a little service snippet (I’ve cut the irrelevant parts out of this one):

.service('BeaconService', ['$resource', '$q', 'appConfig', '$ionicLoading', function($resource, $q, appConfig, $ionicLoading ) {

var Beacons = $resource(appConfig.parseRestBaseUrl + 'classes/beacons/:beaconId', {
    beaconId         : '@beaconId'
  }, {
    list : {
      method : 'GET',
      headers: appConfig.parseHttpsHeaders,
      params : {
        'include' : 'mission,region,platform,level,puser',
        'order'   : '-createdAt'
      }
    }
  });

return {
    list : function() {
      var d = $q.defer();

$ionicLoading.show({
        template: 'Loading...'
      });

var beacons = Beacons.list({}, function( response ) {