A module for every component? A new standard?

I have been working with Ionic on and off for several years and generating a new page made the html/component plus registered it with the module.

Now, I have several lazy-loaded modules for this client, Crew, Fleet, Jobs, Finance. Each one has it’s own module.

Recently, I contracted a guy to add a few more pages to this app and he made a bunch of folders, each with their own module/component.ts and component.html. It was pretty annoying, so I redid the code, and got rid of the modules.

To my surprise, I added another and BOOM, there’s a new module for the component!

Has it always been this way and I just don’t remember, or is this a new thing and a new standard that I should try to follow?

I don’t want to tell my Ionic developer that he’s doing it improperly if it’s just me being outdated! He’s gonna start calling me grandpa!

Any advice out there?

This is a religious topic, so expect to hear from people with strongly held and differing opinions on the topic.

I’m personally 100% in your corner. I think Angular lazy loading is by and large a solution in search of a problem, that adds substantial ugly boilerplate, unnecessary maintenance hassle, and a gaggle of opportunities for creating hard-to-diagnose bugs, many of which choose to hide until you try to build for production. It buries your important code in piles of borderline-unreadable noise.

I suppose there are apps out there that are big enough that it makes sense at some point, but I strongly disagree with the choice to foist it upon newbies that are dependent on the generators and are just trying to follow what they see as community standards.

So I never use Ionic’s generators, ignore lazy loading entirely, declare everything in a single AppModule, and am happy as a clam.

2 Likes