A bug appear in prod-apk only

Hi,

I am new to Ionic and learning best practices.

my solution works well by installing the debug-apk version to real android device with ionic cordova run android , but a bug appears in release-apk version after steps of ionic cordova build android --prod --release, upload to google play store, then download to run in the same device.

questions

1. why does such difference appear?
  2. is it possible, in developing phase, to install the release-apk version to a real android device via adb instead of going through google play store? The reason is question 1 above.
  3. what is the best way to debug release-apk installed through google play store?

br. D

Is --prod or --release causing the problems?
Normally it is --prod that can break and change app behaviour. And that can be tested in development mode without problem…

I simply followed an ionic book to use this command to build release apk, without knowing exactly what they do.
Do you mean --prod or --release can be ignored in the release building action? I will check the meaning of these two argument and see if the issue can be sorted out accordingly.

No, I mean they can be used independently - you can build for dev with --prod to see what happens and if the minimzation etc causes issues. Only then you add --release to build for the store.

good hint!

I can reproduce the error by using ionic cordova build android --prod to create apk and adb install to push the apk to the android device. The error message is:

main.js:1 ERROR Error: Uncaught (in promise): Error: No provider for t!
Error: No provider for t!
    at Error (native)
    at O (file:///android_asset/www/build/main.js:1:6087)
    at T (file:///android_asset/www/build/main.js:1:6346)
    at t._throwOrNull (file:///android_asset/www/build/main.js:3:5428)
    at t._getByKeyDefault (file:///android_asset/www/build/main.js:3:5761)
    at t._getByKey (file:///android_asset/www/build/main.js:3:5146)