3rd party vendor SDK per platform integration with Ionic

Hello,

I’m new to Ionic and have read some documentation to decide whether to give it a try or not for a project.
Since i could not easily find an answer to my remaining main question i have decided to cast it here directly.

Here is a brief description of my project:

• I want to create a mobile native application than run on both iOS and Android. So the question of using an hybrid framework like Ionic make sense. But one of the core feature of the application will need to use Zoom for audio & video communications between users.
  • Zoom provides several SDK to connect to their services: iOS, Android and Ionic SDKs. I clearly don’t want to use the Ionic SDK (because it’s not really well maintained on Zoom side, it’s clearly not their priority, it’s not working with latest version of iOS and Android, it’s using an old version of Ionic, etc.)
  • So i’m stuck with using the platform native SDK of Zoom.

Note: since the API is different between their Android & iOS SDKs, i will clearly need to create a module on my code base to abstract/interface in a generic way with the Zoom part.

Question

Since Ionic generate native code at compile time (correct me if i’m wrong), is it possible to:

• have platform specific includes on the code base (that would then be used at compile time)
  • customize the compilation to include either the android or the iOS SDK in the compiled sources / dependencies ?
  • do you think it would works ? (since Zoom SDK are purely native and call native functions directly - it would not use Ionic bridge) In this end my question is similar to whether we can make direct native calls in an Ionic application without passing by Ionic as a bridge.

I could be misunderstanding what you’re saying, but I suspect this is wrong.