Platform Specific Styling Of Standard HTML Input Types

Due to the fact that there are a number of issues with masking an ion-input, I am looking at making use of other controls/elements. With this decision comes a need to properly style the element. I have briefly played around with attempting to grab the styling from an already themed element by using ViewChild and typing the variable to IonInput. Has anyone done this? On the right track?

@danieldugger Could you describe exactly what you are looking to do? Create your own components, or strictly customize Ionic elements? Manipulate your DOM parts are they Shadow Parts or similar?

I have a DevExpress subscription and would like to style their masked input control and date time picker so that it matches Ionic’s controls.

@danieldugger

Working with Ionic Framework is working with Web Technology: Everything that you can design on the Web is possible in Ionic and by extending your customization with the properties that the framework allows you.

I also believe that DevExpress allows importing your elements with DevExtreme for Angular/Ionic as per their documentation stating so:

:link: https://js.devexpress.com/Documentation/Guide/Angular_Components/Getting_Started/Other_Approaches/Using_Ionic/

–

DevExpress support also ensures that you can import your elements into Angular Project out of the box and modify them your way:

–

Enter this link and let us know:
:link: https://js.devexpress.com/Documentation/Guide/Angular_Components/Getting_Started/Create_a_DevExtreme_Application/

Thanks. I am aware of the fact that they can be used in an Angular project and that they can be customized, which is why I asked the question of how to most efficiently code the customization so that it can be future proof as Ionic modifies their control suite.

1 Like

Perfect @danieldugger :metal: