Ionic preact, ion-button or IonButton?

After stumbling over the lack of interop between react and web components, I’m now seriously considering to move to preact (or even vue, but there I have no experience yet).

As far as I understand, this should be pretty much seamless. Ionic components are web components and preact should be compatible.

After searching the forums, I found this thread : @ionic/react has issues with Preact + preact/compat, @ionic/preact?

Apparently when using more complicated components, like IonModal, there are problems.

But what surprises me is, why use the react components at all?
Won’t they try to set up specifically react virtual dom entries?
And the react system of virtual events is incompatible with the dom, and preact, right ?

So I thought the right way to go would be to do import "@ionic/core" and then to use elements like .

After searching the web, I found this demo project https://github.com/elylucas/ionic-preact-app
It also uses the react components.

Is ionic ready for usage with preact?
Basically I would only want to use the neat library of Ionic components and the ionic cli to bundle to capacitor.

1 Like

What does that statement even mean?? Just looking for clarity on why you think that there isn’t interoperability?

From the stencil docs:

The largest deficiencies that React currently has when it comes to working with standard HTML Custom Elements is that properties that contain non-scalar data (that is, data that is not a string or number) are not passed properly and custom events are not handled properly. The solution to both of these problems is to wrap the Custom Element in a React component, obtain a ref to the Custom Element, and use the ref in order to set the non-scalar properties and add event listeners via addEventListener

Wrapping the web component in a custom react element is not possible in my case.