Ionic 3 ngrx - injecting a provider into reducer

Hello,

I am using ngrx for state management. In one of my reducers I want to access functionality in a provider I created. I am not sure how to inject/access the provider functionality from the reducer (if it was a component I could inject it via the constructor).

Any ideas?

thanks,

Brent

This sounds anti-ngrx to me. Reducers are supposed to be pure functions. Providers call reducers, not the other way around. What are you trying to do? Maybe you are trying to perform an effect, which could go in Effects. But your question as currently stated seems off to me.

I am probably a little off : ) I am new to using ngrx.

I have an action which calls the reducer and passes a payload to the reducer. I want to perform a complex calculation which I put in a provider as a function on this data (used in other places).

Do you think an Effect would work in this situation?

Thanks

I don’t understand your need yet.

Sample reducer: Update username.
Sample effect: Update the remote database with the new username.

The effect listens to the reducer, and when the reducer makes a change, the effect makes a change also. That way, the local change is visible to the user immediately, and the remote change takes place eventually, without creating a bottleneck on the user’s device.

I don’t understand what calls your action. But reducers are pure functions. If you don’t know what that means, I recommend you read up, because you’ll think about them differently. You can think of a reducer as a black box that takes data and spits out data. It’s an island unto itself. I’m also not sure what “put in a provider” means tbh. If you have a provider that listens to the data in the Store, whenever you update the Store, the provider will hear the new value.