Ion-tabs not in separat file?

i’m in my app.html and did sth. like this

<ion-tabs>
    <ion-tab [root]="tab1Root" tabTitle="tab1"></ion-tab>
    <ion-tab [root]="tab2Root" tabTitle="tab2"></ion-tab>
</ion-tabs>

<ion-nav id="nav" #content [root]="???" swipeBackEnabled="false"></ion-nav>

Is there a way to achieve the use of a <ion-tabs>-component, which lays in the same html file?
Before I changed it, it worked like a charm - taken from the tabs demo…

I searched this forum alongside some others, however it appers to me, that no one has tried this before (can’t believe it)… or i just took the wrong words :see_no_evil:

i’m just getting started with this stuff, however as far as i understand, this should have been working?!?:

<ion-tabs #mainTabs>
    <ion-tab [root]="tab1Root" tabTitle="tab1"></ion-tab>
    <ion-tab [root]="tab2Root" tabTitle="tab2"></ion-tab>
</ion-tabs>

<ion-nav id="nav" #content [root]="mainTabs" swipeBackEnabled="false"></ion-nav>

thankful to any help with this.

It looks like you are using V3, so it should be tagged ionic-v3

The ion-tabs should go to the tabs.html (assuming the tabs page is called tabs) file and the ion-nav to the app.html

hi, thx for the quick reply.

ich thought i’m using the latest version (didn’t used the npm to upgrade to latest, but downloaded it only some weeks before). also was a bit confused, when comandline told me it’s CLI 4.0.x and an error in the browser wrote framework is version 3.9.x … however angular seems to be in both the same :man_shrugging:

Anyway - I saw, how it is devided usually. But i still want to know, if it’s possible to use it in the same file…

Actually using <ion-tabs>, I think the answer is “no”. The root and each of the tabs are intended to be pages that are loaded by the NavController, not via template reference variables.