How to map API-Objects in Ionic in a good way?

Hey guys,

I am pretty new to mobile development, but I already got pretty far with my first Ionic app. I’ve got a general question though about mapping data, because I am using a REST API I wrote myself for my web platform (for which I want to dev an app right now).

Lets say there the following “dummy-JSON” structure returned by the API:

locations: { 
    id: 1
    name: Cologne
    author: { id: 1, name: Manuel, follower_count: 0 },
    id: 2
    name: Paris
    author: { id: 1, name: Manuel, follower_count: 0 }
}

The API sends me 2 times the same author, which is fine and currently I am creating 2 separate objects for the same author locally in Ionic. How are you guys mapping this data so that you prevent duplicate objects or doesn’t this matter? I am thinking of a situation that I follow this author within one location, but then I would need to recognize, that this change also affected another part of the app, for example the next item in the list of locations.

I hope I explained it correctly, because currently I am only generating these objects based on the API, mapping them and displaying them in the frontend. Works fine so far, but how to deal with these dependencies? Or would it even better to somehow store these objecs locally and try to keep them synchronized with the API and set for example a “has changed flag” on this author object so that the view is reloaded as soon as Ionic recognizes this on the specific load event?

Thank you so much for your help in advance!
Manuel

1 Like

See:

models.ts:

export interface Location {
  id?: string;
  name?: string;
  author?: { 
    id?: string, 
    name?: string, 
    followerCount?: string
  }
}

mock-locations.service.ts:

import { Injectable } from '@angular/core';
import { HttpClient } from '@angular/common/http';

import { Observable } from 'rxjs/Observable';

import { Location } from '@core/models';

@Injectable()
export class MockLocationsService  {