Cleanest way to return updated data from an "edit record" modal?

I have a typical master-detail page, where users are presented with a list of Customer objects, and can tap one to edit it in a modal window.

I have everything working – I pass the record to ModalController.create(), the modal opens, the user can edit the record in a reactive form, and then the modal page returns data to the calling page via ViewController.dismiss().

But I’m not happy with the pattern I’m using to return the data from the modal and update the original record. Actually, I’ve tried a couple of different techniques, and haven’t liked any of them.

I won’t post my code, because this isn’t really a question about nuts-and-bolts implementation. It’s more of a question about style and architecture. Experienced Ionic developers, assuming that the user has just clicked “Save” on a valid modal form, what do you prefer to do?

• Let the modal page modify the original Customer object directly, returning nothing to onDidDismiss() callback in the calling page.

• In the modal, clone the original Customer object, and return this new object to the calling page. (This is what the Angular docs on reactive forms recommend, but this weirds me out. This will break references, no?)

• Have the modal page return a patch to the calling page, and let the calling page worry about applying the patch to the original Customer object. For example, the original Customer might be { id: 7, name: 'Bob', email: 'bob@example.com' } – but if the modal only allows editing of the customer’s email address, then the patch that it returns might simply be { email: 'bob2@example.com' }.

• Something else?

Bonus points if you can direct me to sample code which handles this scenario well! Thanks!

I hate the third option. Far too much effort for the benefit, very tedious and error-prone.