Assigning a click event to view's title

As the title says, how can I assign a click event to a view title?

I want to have a small down-arrow below to the view title and when the user clicks on it, an overlay view will display letting the user to choose a data filter.

Thanks

1 Like

By view title, do you mean the title in the header? If so, you most likely would want to use the right-buttons directive and set the functions in your controller.

Yes, I meant the title in the header. I’m already using the right and left buttons directives. Are you aware of any way to attach a click handler to the title? Google applies this technique for its iPhone Google Plus app.

hmm as far as i know, there aren’t any default ways to assign a click handler, but you could alway write your own custom directive and then apply it to the nav-bar (header-bar) directive. I think this may be the best bet

Sorry, I’m new with Angular, how can I do such a thing? Ideally I would apply the ngClick directive to the title element but I have no idea on how to do that. Thanks.

Directives a big part of angular so I would spend some time at least learning the basics of them. But here is a starting point. Just apply clickHandler attribute to the header and write your function in this directive.

.directive('clickHandler', function($timeout){
    return{
        restrict: 'A',
        link: function($scope, $element,$attr){
            $timeout(function(){
                    $element.on('tap', function(){
                      //the function you want to perform on tap
			alert("Just been Clicked");
                    });
            });
        }
    };
})
1 Like

Thanks for the example. How would you apply this directive to the header? I’m using the following:

<view title="'Users'" left-buttons="leftButtons" right-buttons="rightButtons">

When I try to assign that clickHandler directive you provided within that view element, the handler’s callback never gets called.